Injera and Teff

One of my favorite gluten-free restaurant meals is Ethiopian food eaten with injera. Injera is a spongy crepe-like flatbread  that is made with teff. Teff is a grass native to Ethiopia and Eritrea. Once made into a flatbread you use it to eat the lentils, chicken, beef and veggies that make up a delicious Ethiopian meal. Many US Ethiopian restaurants cut their injera with wheat to save money, but some make it with 100% teff, making it gluten-free! My favorite Ethiopian place in San Francisco, Moya, offers both gluten-free and non-gluten-free versions of injera. Whole Foods (at least the one near me) also sells packaged injera that can be eaten at home. The MIT Global Ideas Competition also has an awesome entry that proposes to bring teff-based artisan food products to the US.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. You should try Cafe Ethiopia in the Mission on Valencia and 19th Street (in San Francisco if you didn’t guess that’s where I was going with this). My partner and I have been going to Ethiopian restaurants in the Bay Area for years and find them to be one of the best. Wherever we go, I like wrapping the leftover injera around my hand like an ace bandage!

Leave a Reply

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Fit Soul and Spice has moved!

Exciting news! Fit Soul and Spice has moved and transformed!! Check out my new website, girlhackz.com, to continue following my quick healthy lifestyle tips and tricks for girls on the go...

The Mule King

Music for Mules

The Stripe

A lifestyle blog about fashion, beauty, travel, and DIY.

My New Roots

Life for a travel-loving homebody

