Summer Rhubarb

Together with daffodils, wearing skirts on that first warm day and hearing the birds chat away in the morning, rhubarb signifies the heart of spring in New England. My dad has always grown them in the garden and we’d pick them and improvise a strawberry-rhubarb crisp. I usually mix some almond flour, rice four, butter, honey, eggs and lots of spices together, sprinkle it over the fruit (and vegetables? what is rhubarb?) and bake until it looks crispy. Once cooked, I add some fresh mint and some vanilla yogurt or ice cream and eat one too many servings. I do love a good strawberry-rhubarb crisp, but am wondering what else I can do with it. It is a bit less fun now that I have to buy it and can’t just harvest endless amounts from my dad’s garden, but it is worth it to really celebrate spring and early summer.

Martha Stewart has a great guide to rhubarb recipes. Although it is pretty dessert-heavy, it has some interesting looking recipes for iced tea, sangria and salad. Happy Summer!

Leave a Reply

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Fit Soul and Spice has moved!

Exciting news! Fit Soul and Spice has moved and transformed!! Check out my new website, girlhackz.com, to continue following my quick healthy lifestyle tips and tricks for girls on the go...

The Mule King

Music for Mules

The Stripe

A lifestyle blog about fashion, beauty, travel, and DIY.

My New Roots

Life for a travel-loving homebody

